Kanda ya Mashariki

ffice Physical Address

Eastern Zone office for National Environment Management Council is based in Dar-es-salaam. The Eastern zone office is currently situated within NEMC headquarter offices which is in plot No. 29/30, Reagent Estate, Mikocheni area in Dar-es-salaam. The zone is currently under the leadership of Eng. Benjamin J. Mchwampaka who is the Acting Zonal Manager. It can be reached through the following address;

NEMC-Eastern Zone

P.O Box 63154


Email: dg@nemc.or.tz

Telephone: 255222774889


NEMC Eastern Zone started its operation in 2016 for the purpose of bringing services closer to the people and serves all environmental related activities on behalf of the Director General.

The Eastern Zone office has the responsibility of coordinating and linking up various government entities on issues related to environmental management including ensuring environmental compliance and enforcement to various facilities and projects, reviewing Environmental Impact Assessment and Environmental Audit for the projects submitted to the zone, awareness raising to stakeholders for sound environmental management, respond to all complaints brought to the zone, provide technical support and guidance on environmental and natural resources management, coordinating environmental activities within the zone and perform all other activities as required by EMA (Cap 191).


This particular zone covers four Regions namely Dar-es-salaam, Pwani, Tanga and Morogoro with their respective 23 Districts as follows; -

  1. Dar-es-salaam -Ilala, Kinondoni, Temeke, Ubungo and Kigamboni
  2. Pwani -Bagamoyo, Kibaha, Kisarawe, Mkuranga, Mafia and Rufiji
  3. Tanga -Korogwe, Lushoto, Handeni, Kilindi, Muheza, Pangani and Tanga
  4. Morogoro-Kilosa, Kilombero, Ulanga, Morogoro Urban and Morogoro Rural


The zone is bordered by Indian ocean to the East, Kilimanjaro Region to the North and Manyara Region to the North West. In the South it is bordered by Lindi and Ruvuma Regions, North West by Dodoma Region and South West by Iringa region.