Directorates and Units

NEMC is headed by the Director General and it has 5 technical directorates namely:

  1. Directorate of Environmental Compliance and Enforcement (DECE)
  2. Directorate of Environmental Impact Assessment (DEIA)
  3. Directorate of Environmental Research and Planning (DEPR)
  4. Directorate of Environmental Information, Communication and Outreach (DEICO)
  5. Directorate of Finance and Administration (DFA).

The Council is supported by 4 Units:-

  1. Legal Services
  2. Internal Audit
  3. Corporate Planning
  4. Procurement Management

Also NEMC has five (5) operating zone offices:-

  1. Northern Zone comprising of Arusha, Manyara and Kilimanjaro regions with office in Arusha,
  2. Lake Zone comprising of Mwanza, Shinyanga, Simiyu and Mara regions with office in Mwanza
  3. Southern Highlands zone comprising of Mbeya, Rukwa, Songwe, Katavi and Iringa regions with office in Mbeya
  4. Southern zone comprising of Mtwara, Lindi and Ruvuma regions with office in Mtwara
  5. Eastern zone comprising of Dar es salaam, Morogoro, Tanga and Pwani regions with office in Dar Es Salaam